You’re Not Coming Back Anymore

For a couple of years some of my friends and I have been sharing music. We’re supposed to review/rate what gets shared with us, and share those reviews with the group, but that doesn’t always happen.

Ringo Starr – Ringo (1973)

Like last week, I’m sharing an album from an ex-Beatle. Last week’s George Harrison album had a song where Ringo and Paul joined George to do a song commemorating the (then) recently deceased John. This album, however, is the closest we ever got to an actual Beatles reunion until the Anthology albums in the mid-’90s.

I thought about sharing Ringo’s 1998 album Vertical Man, which is really what got me into his solo catalog and has Paul and George playing. But I like this album just a little more. This album has musical contributions from John, Paul and George. John, George and Ringo are all together on I’m the Greatest.

If I remember right, this is the only album that has new musical contributions from them all (again, until Anthology). There are some other albums that have new contributions from two or three of them, but only archival/re-released material from John.

Again, this week was just me. Maybe it’s time to find some new participants. Feel free to share your own thoughts down in the comments section. If anyone else reviews this album, I’ll post what they had to say here.

Leave a Reply

