The One Who Imagined it All

For a couple of years some of my friends and I have been sharing music. We’re supposed to review/rate what gets shared with us, and share those reviews with the group, but that doesn’t always happen.

George Harrison – Somewhere in England (1981)

Much like before they broke up, after The Beatles broke up, George and Ringo never seem to get the attention they deserve. John got the most coverage. Paul still has a decent career, but I like George’s solo material the most.

I chose this album because I was thinking about John’s death. All Those Years Ago was written by George for Ringo to sing, but Ringo thought it was too high and didn’t love the lyrics. After John died, George reworked the tune to be more of a tribute to John. Ringo was already playing drums on this record, but Paul came to the studio to record back-ups for the song – one of the few times three former Beatles collaborated.

The album opener, Teardrops and That Which I Have Lost are also stand out tracks for me.

Whenever I read or hear about ELO, it always seems to come up that Jeff Lynne was trying to be the logical extension of what The Beatles were doing. I’ve never heard that parallel. John Lennon said (in response to people wanting more Beatles music) that all you needed to do was take a John song, then a Paul song, then George, John, Paul, maybe a Ringo song, John, Paul, etc. and stick them on a record and you’d essentially have the next Beatles record; by the end, they were all writing separately. More than The Beatles as a whole, I hear George Harrison’s influence in ELO. And on this record especially; it’s just a little new wave rock-ish.

Much like last week, this week was just me. But Spencer did go back later, listen to this and shared his short and sweet review with me:

“I’ve heard some of these songs (when we were fab, so many years ago) on youtube when I was trying to explore the post beatles stuff. It was before I’d discovered spotify and it was hard to find, but basically I didn’t really care for it. I think the new wave sound just isn’t my favorite. After a couple listens, I appreciate it a lot more, but still feel like it pales compared to Abbey Road. I’ll probably do more listening of it though, as I was liking it more as I got more familiar.” 4.0/5 – Spencer

Feel free to share your own thoughts down in the comments section.

2 thoughts on “The One Who Imagined it All

  1. Pingback: You’re Not Coming Back Anymore | An American Audio-logue

  2. Pingback: The World Will be as One | An American Audio-logue

Leave a Reply

