I Hope You Find Yourself

For a couple of years some of my friends and I have been sharing music. We’re supposed to review/rate what gets shared with us, and share those reviews with the group, but that doesn’t always happen.

Alpha Male Tea Party – Health (2017)

A couple of weeks ago, AMTP released a new album. So we’re going back to them. As Spencer weaves us through the prog & math rock world, I find little snippets that relate these bands to one another. AMTP themselves said they were influenced by bands like Deftones and Three Trapped Tigers. Now that I’ve heard Three Trapped Tigers, I hear the evolution.

I like loud and aggressive. But I loved when they switched it up on The Museum of Walking and Nobody Had the Heart to Tell Him He Was on Fire.

Maybe because I had just listened to a whole album of a lot of the same, but the last couple of tracks kind of lost me. Until they added vocals. I get that they may want to been seen as an instrumental band, but vocals like that, when they are the exception, have a great effect. 3.2/5

Rancid – And Out Come the Wolves (1995)

Hot on the heels of Green Day’s Dookie, here is Rancid’s third album – and I think their best.

In true punk fashion, there are a ton of songs on here, and most are pretty short. especially when compared to the Queen-fest we’ve been having the past month.

There are some absolute classics on here, but I think the whole album is great.

Here’s what my friends had to say:

“So… I don’t know if its the ska influence or simply because I’m familiar with a lot of these songs already (you know those nostalgia points) but I really like this, whereas other punk albums (i.e. Ramones) have really not appealed to me. I’m not sure what it is. I think maybe the mix of nostalgia and ska influence that give this one a 4.0/5” – Spencer

Feel free to leave your own reviews down in the comments section.

Leave a Reply

