Visions, but Only Illusions

Some of my friends and I share music with one another to listen to at work. We’re supposed to review/rate whatever’s shared with us, but that doesn’t always happen. This week, Tim was at a conference and I’m not sure what happened to the others, but it was just me sharing this week.

Me First and the Gimmie Gimmies – Are a Drag (1999)

I meant to share this last week, and I’m amazed they haven’t been shared thus far. But because I was in Florida, I ended up sharing a cover which you may not have expected to hear to prime you for (quite possibly) the kings of covers you never expected to hear. AND this is timely because Me First came to Salt Lake City this weekend.

They’ve had some great songs over the course of their career, but this album (their second) is their favorite of mine. I mean it helps that if these were the original it would feel like a greatest hits of Broadway, but they make the punk treatment work for each of them.

Here’s what my friends had to say:

“I really like these guys. I love when artists take a great song and put it in a whole new light. And of course they are masters of it. I don’t think I’ve ever gone through and listened to all their stuff (since I just had a few tracks from back in the napster days). I do tire a bit of the cannonical punk guitar over drum sound but they pick great songs and realize that the novelty wears off after 2 minutes so the tracks are all short. Those few quiet parts here are there are vital and help a lot to keep it from turning into just fizzy static. I don’t know many other bands playing this game but these guys know how to do it.

Over the Rainbow and Rainbow Connection are probably my favorites of the bunch, partially because I just love the chords and melody of the originals.” 4.0/5 – Spencer

Leave your own thoughts in the comments section below.

Leave a Reply

