I Heard the Old Man Stamping His Feet

Some of my friends and I share music with one another to listen to at work. We’re supposed to review/rate whatever’s shared with us, but that doesn’t always happen.

Squirrel Nut Zippers – Hot (1996)

These guys have been on my list of things to share for a very long time. Now felt like a good time. You may have heard their biggest hit (which is on this album), Hell.

The ’90s were a good time for bands with brass sections, but nobody really saw this coming. They have a very distinct feel. Some bands it’s hard to put a name on their sound, but here it’s easy: vaudeville jazz. The band we’ve had in this music game so far that is close to similar is The Ditty Bops. But you can take bands like Barenaked Ladies, Dog on Fleas, Nickel Creek, Norah Jones and Quintette du Hot Club de Jazz and blend them up to get a similar feel.

Aside from Hell, some of my favorites from this album include Memphis Exorcism, Flight of the Passing Fancy (my mother especially likes the drums in that one), Blue Angel and The Interlocutor.

I was listening to these guys my sophomore year of college (I mean, I was listening to them other times, but especially then) and (naturally) ended up writing a song in this style, although it has since been reworked to be James Taylor-esque. If you like this album, they have many others. I suggest their follow up album, Perennial Favorites.

If my friends ever tell me what they thought, I’ll post their reviews here. Please leave your own comments in the appropriately-named section below.

Leave a Reply

