Come a Little Closer, You’ll Understand

Some of my friends and I share music with one another while we work. We’re supposed to review/rate what gets shared with us, and share those reviews with the group, but that doesn’t always happen.

Return to Forever – Romantic Warrior (1976)

I’ve listened to these guys and this album before, also at Spencer’s suggestion, after a discussion of prog rock influences on video game soundtrack composers like Koji Kondo.

And I have to say, the two most vigigamey are the opener and (especially) The Magician. But The Magician also had some really sweet guitar grooves going on (not that vigigame music can’t be sweet). The title track had some proto-The Legend of Zelda: Ocarina of Time quotes in there. However, I think my favorite was Majestic Dance. At 5+ minutes, it’s one of the shorter tunes, but it still had a lot going on. Sorceress, the title track and the closer would lose me sometimes. This is a really good album, but I think it would be better mixed in with other things so it doesn’t all blend together. 3.5/5

The Stone Coyotes – Church of the Falling Rain (1998)

I discovered this band because of one of my favorite authors, Elmore Leonard. When I looked up the next book I was going to read on the library’s app, it had three entries: a hard copy, an audio version, and “Words and Music from the Book, Be Cool“.

That intrigued me enough to reserve a copy (along with the book, of course). It was excepts from the book and songs by the band that he used as inspiration (even quoting their lyrics). On the CD, he said:

“In Be Cool, the sequel to Get Shorty, Chili Palmer wanders into the music business and becomes a manager. Last summer I was trying to figure out what kind of music the band plays that he manages.

I listened to all kinds of music, some of it for the first time in my life, because rock and roll passed me by. Although my kids, of course, were playing it at home. Then I saw The Stone Coyotes at the Troubador in L.A. and I knew immediately that that was the kind of music this band plays.”

That CD had five songs from this album: the title track, My Little Runaway, Hammer on the Nail, The Changing of the Guard, and Odessa (which was written especially for the book).

In another place, he described the band as a mix between AC/DC and Patsy Cline, which I’m not sure I agree with. I don’t think their as hard as AC/DC or as country as Patsy, but I do see influences of both hard rock and country in their music. And I like it, so I’m sharing it with you.

Here’s what my friends had to say:

“After a listen through, I really liked the guitar tones on here. But the singing did feel a little country. I really see where Leonard said they are a mix of AC/DC and Patsy Cline. It wasn’t that twangy, but just had some sublte country vocal style that became more and more noticeable to me as I listened. So it was worth a listen, but by the end I felt ready to move on.” 3.5/5 – Spencer

Feel free to share anything  you liked, didn’t like, or you found musically interesting down in the comments section.

Leave a Reply

