We All Keep Moving On

Some of my friends and I share music with one another while we work. We’re supposed to review/rate what gets shared with us, and share those reviews with the group, but that doesn’t always happen.

Again, nobody else shared anything this week. But instead of just getting one album, I also thought I’dd add in something special.

Bob Seger – Glenn Song (2017)

This Wednesday marks the one-year anniversary of the passing of Glenn Frey, one of the founders of the Eagles. I didn’t know this, but apparently he was friends with Bob Seger since before either of them were famous. A few months ago, Bob wrote this song for/about Glenn and he is giving it away for free in Glenn’s memory.

Bob said he knows it isn’t a hit song, but it isn’t supposed to be. It’s a rather intimate reflection on the personal friendship between two rock legends. It’s melancholy and nostalgic. It made me think of the people I’ve played with over the years, and the relationships I haven’t maintained.

 

You can find it here: http://glenn-song.bobseger.com/

Here’s what my friends had to say:

“This was a nice heart felt song. I feel like it was of course written well, and performed well, but was one of those songs that has way more meaning to the author than the listener. Still, great song.” 4/5 – Tim

“Glenn Song was cool. agree with Tim’s comments pretty much.” – Spencer

George Winston – Forest (1994)

Lately, my musical outlet has been at the keys. It’s not acoustic, and I can plug headphones in, so I can be as loud as I want as late as I want. I’ve been writing new stuff, as well as revisiting and reworking some old tunes. That also means I’ve been listening to more modern solo piano music.

This album is one that has been a big influence on my piano playing/composition generally for as long as I can remember, but specifically this is the album that taught me how to play ragtime piano. Scott Joplin’s Maple Leaf Rag is sweet and deserves to be on the Voyager golden record, but I learn music best by listening and watching, and a lot of rags (including Maple Leaf) are played by people who want to impress you with how fast they can go – not so conducive to me learning. The melancholy Graceful Ghost found on this album, however, was exactly what I needed. After an hour or so at the piano, I figured out one of my (now) go-to warm-up tunes. It wasn’t until later that I heard William Bolcom’s original version, which has at least another section, but this remains my favorite.

It’s a little different than the usual fare.

From my friends:

“this was actually more up my alley this last week. I needed something chill that could just play in the back while I focused and worked. I don’t listen to a lot of piano music, but this was nice and made me think maybe I should listen to more. I didn’t listen very closely though so I didn’t really pick out any highlights that will make me come back to this particular album, but I’m giving it a 3.9/5” – Spencer

Please let me know what you think of the George Winston album or the Bob Seger single down in the comments section.

Leave a Reply

