Of His Honor and His Glory the People Would Sing

Some of my friends and I share music with one another while we work. We’re supposed to review/rate what gets shared with us, and share those reviews with the group, but that doesn’t always happen.

This week, nobody else shared anything. So you just get this one album.

Carrying over from Tim’s suggestion from last week, we lost quite a few musicians in 2016. Two of them – Keith Emerson and Greg Lake – from the same band.

Emerson, Lake and Palmer – Emerson, Lake and Palmer (1970)

I’ve been a minor fan of ELP for years. I mostly think of them for their prog rock interpretations of classical music. This is their debut album and has their best known original, Lucky Man. At least, I think it’s their most well-known original. I could be wrong.

I thought about sharing their second album, Tarkus, but I wasn’t sure anyone who isn’t already into prog rock wound enjoy it as much. Mostly because the title track is 20 minutes long.

I feel like this album is more approachable and even-keeled. There’s still a 12-minute epic, but the rest are much more digestible – especially if you get a version where each section of The Three Fates is its own track.

Here’s what my friends had to say:

“I really thought I was going through like this album from the first track. But by the end of the third track I wasn’t really connecting. When the lyrics would hit I felt like I must be in a completely different place than them mentally and emotionally because they didn’t seem to mean anything. It felt like they were very talent musicians, but not good songwriters/lyricists. Sometimes it just felt like noise.

I really was disappointed. And maybe my score is reflective of my high hopes on the opening track, but overall you I give it 2 out of 5.” – Tim

“Gave this another listen through. I love ELP. Probably just biased. While I can see Tim’s point about the lyrics, I’m of the opinion that the lyrics are really just another instrument. They just use them to further the music portrait they are trying to paint. I have no idea what most of the lyrics are, I just love the sound. That synth solo that closes Lucky Man, holy cow, one of my favorite musical moments ever. Apparently it was recorded by accident, Emerson was just fooling around kind of brianstorming as the others were tracking and didn’t realize his was going to tape!” 5/5 – Spencer

Please share your thoughts about ELP in the comments section below, or share an album from a musician we’ve lost recently.

One thought on “Of His Honor and His Glory the People Would Sing

  1. Pingback: We All Keep Moving On | An American Audio-logue

Leave a Reply

