The Past is Gone but Something Might be Found to Take its Place

Some of my friends and I share music with one another while we work. We’re supposed to review/rate what gets shared with us, and share those reviews with the group, but that doesn’t always happen.

Gin Blossoms – New Miserable Experience (1992)

Other than Hey Jealousy (which brings back nostalgiaflood of some onehitwonders and other stuff from the 1990s), I really haven’t heard anything from Gin Blossoms.

They’re not bad, although I didn’t really care for Mrs. Rita, Until I Fall Away and especially Cheating. Most of the album is pretty run of the mill ’90s alt. pop rock. But they have the nostalgia thing going for them. Hey Jealousy was easily the best song, and it’s obvious as to why it’s the one they’re remembered for. My favorite tune that was new to me was Found Out about You. I also really liked everything except the vocals (which were just ok) on Cajun Song (I think everyone could use a little more zydeco in their lives). 3.1/5

From my friends:

“Hey Jealousy was in that nebulous region of the brain where you hear it and think, hey I’ve heard this before, a long time ago, but not enough to actually have any real memory associated to it. Which made it fun to listen to once, but no real desire to turn it on again. The rest of the album was fine to listen to, but seemed fairly forgettable. Cheating didn’t really match the album and was much more country than I care for.” 3.2/5 – Spencer

The Killers – Hot Fuss (2004)

When I first heard of these guys, I thought they were kind of over-rated. I think I was too cool for the new-wave revival. I wanted the more punk side of rock. It wasn’t until four years later when the guitarist I was in a band with suggested I listen to their latest album (Day and Age) that I really got into The Killers and I discovered how wrong I was. Suffice it to say I no longer think they’re over rated. I think this album (and their stuff in general) is a modern classic.

Here’s what my friends had to say:

“I hadn’t heard this album before, but did listen to the one that came out after this one. I liked this one much more. It’s a pretty solid album with a consistent sound. Unfortunately I think they have not gotten better with each album, which I think is sad…maybe it’s because this one is just that good. Regardless, I really enjoyed it and can see how they gained so much popularity in the first couple years…lots of good tracks. Again, solid sound, and great consistency throughout.” 4/5 – Tim

“I’ve never listened to this whole album either. The hits are the highlights to me, All the Things I’ve Done, Somebody Told Me. Mr. Brightside hasn’t ever really appealed to me though. Somebody I think is a really great track with its rock and dancey blend that works really well. Thats my favorite. I’ll be listening to this again.” 4.0/5 – Spencer

One thought on “The Past is Gone but Something Might be Found to Take its Place

  1. Pingback: I’m Quite Sure that You’ll Tell Me Just How I Should Feel Today | An American Audio-logue

Leave a Reply

