It’s No Better to be Safe than Sorry

Some of my friends and I share music with one another while we work. We’re supposed to review/rate what gets shared with us, and share those reviews with the group, but that doesn’t always happen.

Because of the holiday, this work week is short. I decided to just share a music video and my friends did the same.

a-Ha – Take on Me (1984)

This song is a classic. From american ska bands to North Korean accordionists, the breadth of covers helps give you an idea of how influential this song is. And with good reason. It’s driving and catchy. It’s definitely ’80s, but ages well.

And the music video is a bit odd. We had visited this a couple of years ago when my brother shared some literal videos. The comic book idea is cool and should have been fine by itself, so why did the lead singer have to be a racer? And while “silent” issues of comic books can be done well, the one the girl is reading in the cafe seems pretty boring.

That being said, it’s still a sweet song. Pipe wrench fight and all. 4/5

And did you know in their next music video it turns out the whole thing was just a TV show? Meta.

From my friends:

“thats a very artsy video really. The music is iconic 80s music that I’m still not a huge fan of. I much prefer Reel Big Fish’s cover of the song. Its a really good song, but not one I’m likely to pull up” 3.3/5 – Spencer

Placebo – Pure Morning (1998)

This is not necessarily an iconic song or music video, and this isn’t even the best tune on the album (I think that’d be Every Me and Every You), but it’s how I discovered the band. In the end, I can’t say I would recommend the whole album.

It’s the late ’90s, so of course it’s a bit odd. The lead singer is purposefully androgynous, I’m not sure why the rest of the band is being arrested, and the whole music video looks better if you speed it up to 200%.

Here’s what my friends had to say:

“I haven’t listened to that for a while. Great track to really crank up and rock out to. Catchy too. No idea what its really about though. The video was kind of cool. I have mixed feelings about music videos in general, since I feel like it then becomes more about the visual than the audio. Anywho, maybe I should check out more Placebo, but for this song its got some nostalgia points going” 4.3/5 – Spencer

Leave a Reply

