Mullet with Headlights

Some of my co-workers and I have been sharing some of our favorite music, rating them, reviewing them and sharing those reviews with one another. I thought I’d share my thoughts on their suggestions (and their thoughts on mine) with you here.

Since this work week is short, and kind of a throw away, we decided to share something oddly entertaining and strange. Which just turned into different interpretations on the idea of a music video.

Back when Tim owned and operated a comic book shop, they used to play Japanese anime music videos set to popular music. Think of a traditional music video but instead of original film, someone has edited an anime to sync with the music. Although, I have never seen an entire anime episode/movie so forgive me if I sound like I don’t know what I’m talking about. Anyway, you get things like this:

Being a fan of the video game, of course I have run across Rabbit Joint’s The Legend of Zelda before. But when combined with the visuals of Record of Lodoss War, it actually works better than the original The Legend of Zelda TV show.

There were others that were not so good, like the Gummi Bears theme with animation from what I think is Neon Genesis Evangelion. There was one part where the lyrics are something about the magic of gummiberry juice and they found a video clip of copious amounts of blood. That was a little funny. But most of it didn’t really make sense. Same with Bleach and Queen’s Princes of the Universe. Epic, but I’m not sure either was enhanced by the other. But Tim shared it, so of course there was Queen. There was also a Trigun/Bohemian Rhapsody mash-up which was alright, but not as good as mixing Cowboy Bebop and Relient K’s cover of The Pirates Who Don’t Do Anything.

It’s a cool idea, and some of them worked really well, but I wouldn’t seek out more of this.

So on to some other gems of the internet from a few years back.

Literal music videos.

These popular music videos have had their lyrics … updated to match what’s happening in the video. For example, Bonnie Tyler’s classic Total Eclipse of the Heart.

This really goes to show the absurdity of music videos. Others were still odd, but even if the video had nothing to do with the music the visual story of Aha’s Take on Me is cohesive and interesting. Same with Pat Benatar’s Love is a Battlefield. But as dumb as those are, Journey’s Separate Ways (Worlds Apart) is really, really dumb. It’s only redeeming value is self-deprecation.

But the best (or worse)(but actually the best) has to be Men without Hats’ Safety Dance.

It makes me really glad I wasn’t really aware of the ’80s. All of that? Really bad. The music is … whatever. The videos are just music with unrelated video so the bands could take advantage of MTV. It didn’t add anything. Except some humor value.

Pomplamoose

Most of Pomplamoose’s older stuff was originally released to YouTube. They have a certain philosophy when it comes to their videos.

What you see is what you hear. And if you hear it, you’ll see it at some point.

So without further ado, here’s their cover of The Chordette’s classic Mr. Sandman:

I know what some might say. They’re hipsters. They sure are. But that doesn’t mean they don’t make good pop rock. And it’s not all covers. This is an original, If You Think You Need Some Lovin’:

That’s the song a couple of my hipster friends used to introduce me to Pomplamoose. You can’t deny they’ve got talent and personality. Plus, I like the faces they make.

More recently, they’ve kinda stopped doing those kind of music videos. And their sound has changed somewhat, although I don’t think their style has. This is another original, Don’t Stop Lovin’ Me, and it reminds me of my wife and I. Except we’re not quite as good of dancers as they are.

I hope you take a little break and watch these guys. Most music videos aren’t worth watching, but these are. These are more than the audio of the songs play with added video. The video actually matters. And once you do watch those, let me know what you thought in the comments below.

5 thoughts on “Mullet with Headlights

  1. Pingback: When the Sun Comes Out | Another American Audio-logue

  2. Pingback: Reflections in the Waves Spark My Memory | Another American Audio-logue

  3. Pingback: I Got Your Meaning Between the Lines | An American Audio-logue

  4. Pingback: Just Like a Dream, You Are Not What You Seem | An American Audio-logue

  5. Pingback: It’s No Better to be Safe than Sorry | An American Audio-logue

Leave a Reply

