I’ve Had Enough of Your Tainted Love

I work in my company’s marketing department. We also take care of PR and most internal communications. In an article in our most recent company news magazine, one of my coworkers made allusions to a song I had honestly never heard before: Pharrell Williams’ Happy. Apparently it’s a huge hit.

So of course our friend Weird Al has made a parody of it on his newest album. And it’s tacky.

No really, that’s the name of the song, Tacky.

Frankly, I think it’s better than the original, and not just because of Jack Black’s twerking skills. And to all you nay-sayers out there who think Weird Al is less relevant in today’s YouTube world where a couple of dads can do a parody video of Disney’s Frozen or someone else can do a video of whatever other song is popular at the moment, I say, “Who cares?”

I mean, he’s still as funny as he ever was. He’s just as creative. Just because other people also do parody doesn’t mean he isn’t good anymore. Just enjoy the fun.

And as long as I’m sharing Weird Al, this was shared with me a while ago:

 

In case you didn’t catch it, that was Weird Al on tambourine. Also, he directed that.

My wife was a Hanson fan back when they had their first hit. She remembers calling in to VH1 or something and requesting their video be played.

I doubt that kind of thing happens any more.

To me Hanson had always been three doofy brothers washing dishes and singing Mmm Bop. It’s nice to be proven wrong (a bit, anyway). They’ve obviously matured. And their music has, too. But they’re still just having fun. Just like Weird Al.

Music is there to entertain, right? I mean, sometimes its there to augment a movie or something, but music by itself is there for entertainment. And musicians who love what they’re doing infect the crowd with that same fun.

Plus, if there’s one thing I’ve learned, it’s that catching flying guitars is cool. Right? Right!?

One thought on “I’ve Had Enough of Your Tainted Love

  1. Pingback: If I’d Only Thought of Something Charming to Say | An American Audio-logue

Leave a Reply

