Meaningful Memories

I started a new job in October. I also decided I needed to write more music, so I set a goal to write one new song a month.

To give me some momentum, I cheated and reworked a song I started writing in 2008, but never finished. But the song started forming in my head years before.

Since 2004, I’ve been playing in a band called Viewers Like You. In 2005 or 2006, we got a new trumpet player. We were getting him up to speed on all of our songs, including one called “Meanings Unmeant” which he once called “Meaningful Memories.” Not one to let a good (or even mediocre) song name go to waste, I filed it away until I figured out a song to fit the title (not usually the way I write songs).

Fast-forward a couple of years to the worst summer of dating I ever had. Without going into specifics, let me just say that I wasn’t finding any winners. Also, I was listening to a lot of 311‘s From Chaos, Carbon Leaf‘s Indian Summer and Eve 6‘s Horrorscope. Suffice it to say, I was listening to a variety of things which influenced me, along with my unsuccessful love life, in a variety of ways to produce this song. It’s just a demo, so keep that in mind while you’re listening.

This song is mostly about those girls I didn’t date for very long, specifically about one where from the start I knew it wasn’t going to last. The last couple of lines of the stanza are more about an ex I really cared about; it didn’t end as badly as pretty much every other relationship, so while I don’t really trust her, I often think about how sad it is to get so close to someone who you don’t end up spending the rest of your life with. They become your best friend until it’s over and then you never see them again (unless you run into them at a bowling alley or something), but they were still an important part of your life and all your memories from that time somehow link back to them. I’m over her, I’m okay to never see her again, I fondly remember the time we spent together, and that’s something I never hear songs about.

As one of my friends and coworkers once said, “Dating sucks. Until it doesn’t, and then you’re married.”

There you go. After years of rolling around in my head and sebaceously forming, I wrote, recorded and have now shared “Meaningful Memories.”

What do you think? Want to suggest something I should change musically? Know of a song about remembering an ex fondly, but not still being in love with them? Let me know in the comments.

 

Leave a Reply

