Go Play a Video Game

Almost two months ago, I heard this big stink on the interwebs about Lana Del Ray’s disastrous Saturday Night Live performance. So I watched it. If you have not, I have provided you with it here. And even if you have, watch it again for a bit, just to refresh your memory.

I did not really like it. It was like a stoned Angelina Jolie impersonator singing a pop song à la Pink Floyd. Frankly, I had a hard time understanding what she was saying. And she scooped and slid into so many of the notes.

Exhibit A: Angelina Jolie Voight. Big hair. Heavy eye make up. Big lips.Slightly Anorexic looking. Sex icon. Successful.

Exhibit B: Elizabeth Woolridge Grant (Lana Del Rey). Big hair. Heavy eye make up. Big lips. Slightly anorexic looking. Sex icon? Successful?

Surprised? You should not be. We all should have seen this coming.

She did another song, “Blue Jeans,” which was pretty much the same, but a little more upbeat and with random yelling. And that is where it stopped for me. An hour later, I had forgotten all about her.

The other day, I heard that first song again. And it sounded exactly the same. Here is the official video for “Video Games.”

So here I am thinking about all those people who made a big stink about her performance on SNL, but really, she just is not that good. This is the kind of music I expect to hear over the credits of a movie. This is not the kind of music you go see live, unless you are on drugs. Or it is nap time.

Let me make this one recommendation: instead of listening to any more of whatever that was, go play a video game. Which I have a hard time believing she has ever done with those nails of hers.

3 thoughts on “Go Play a Video Game

  1. Pingback: The Legend of Zelda, Part 1 | Another American Audio-logue

  2. Pingback: Late in the Night, Your Shadow Falls between Us | An American Audio-logue

Leave a Reply

