And in the end, the love you take is equal to the love you make

I do not know if you saw the 54th Grammy Awards or not. This was my favorite bit.

Paul McCartney and his back up band (Rusty Anderson on guitar, Brian Ray on bass and Abe Laboriel, Jr. on drums) performed the last medley on Abbey Road.

But that is not all. For “The End,” Bruce Springsteen (from Bruce Springsteen), Dave Grohl (from Nirvana, Foo Fighters and Them Crooked Vultures) and Joe Walsh (from The Eagles) came out and joined them.

From L to R: The Boss, Joe, Rusty, Paul, Dave and Brian.

I already posted about the album version of this song, but now I get to update it with a live version. In the original, each of The Beatles take a solo. Actually John, Paul and George take three two-bar solos. I had said,

You can tell just by listening who is playing. Paul’s solos are melodic, George’s are technical, and John’s are distorted.

I always cite this song as my justification in playing music the way I want; putting my emotion into it and interpreting music my way, instead of trying to sound like everybody else. I was pleased to get the same kind of thing from the live version. I think only one or two of the short solos were ones on the album. Mostly, these guys just made these their own. And you can tell they are enjoying themselves. Why play music if you are not going to be enjoying it? These guys are letting their humanity show. Paul is sounding a little old, but that is to be expected. I think he is doing just as well, or better, than other old classic rockers.

In case you missed it, here’s the video.

Leave a Reply

