Too ancient for Idol

My mother often recommends new music to me. Usually, it is something she heard on Public Radio or Pandora. It is hit and miss.

“My Sweet Guitar” from Steven Gellman’s 2003 album “Love Loss Longing.”

This song is cheesy.

When I first heard a 30 second preview of this song, I honestly thought it was a Christian song which used a guitar for a stand in for Jesus. It is blend of folky pop rock and easy listening. Something softer than John Denver. Honestly, not my cup of tea.

I felt that I should give it a real chance. Attempting to avoid buying the track, I desperately sought a means by which I could just listen to it for free.

During my research, I discovered that “Love Loss Longing” is a concept album describing the journey one goes through at the end of relationship. I started to relate to this song. It seems like no matter how many bad relationships I went through before I got married, there was always my guitar.

“My Life Doesn’t Rhyme” from Jeffrey Pepper Rodgers’s 2008 album “Humming My Way Back Home.”

Trying to find this song, I ran into a lot of stuff talking this guy up, saying how amazing he was. It kind of got my hopes up.

This song is good. Not as amazing as I expected, but it is good.

“My Life Doesn’t Rhyme” is Rodgers’s attempt to explain his songwriting process.

Rodgers said, “After so many years of asking other songwriters why or how they write their songs, it only seemed fair that I should answer the question myself.”

He uses a lot of metaphors, and sometimes they just feel forced, like he was trying too hard. One thing he said rang true, he and his music are “too ancient for Idol.”

Rodgers said he recorded the album in various basements and living rooms on a laptop, then mixed and mastered in a professional studio, which gave him the ultimate freedom to capture intimate, in-the-moment performances with a clarity that rivals any pro studio.

I like that thought. I think that is what music is really all about: freedom.

All in all, I understand why my mother suggested these songs to me. Generally, I like folk music. And I can relate to the premise behind each them. But honestly, I did not buy these tracks, and I do not expect to.

In the immortal words of Geordi La Forge, “But you don’t have to take my word for it.”

Or maybe that was Kunta Kinte.

Leave a Reply

